A few months ago TTO noticed a small, hard bump on Gus’ rear ‘passenger side’ (also known as the right) leg.  We agreed to keep an eye on it and take him to the vet if it changed at all.  It stayed exactly the same until late last week.  TTO pointed out that it felt bigger and a bit softer.  I made an appointment.

That brings us to this afternoon.  Gus HATES going to the vet.  He trembles all over and it is the only time that I ever see his stumpy little tail stop wagging.  The vet came in, felt the bump and had the tech come in to take him back and aspirate what she had determined was a cyst.  At this point I still wasn’t that concerned.  Boxers are known for having skin issues and I figured we’d been pretty lucky up to this point. 

Then the vet came back in with the syringe.

It was filled with gunky brown liquid.  She proceded to tell me that she hadn’t really seen anything like it before.  She was anticipating a waxy, clear substance.  Apparently the brown = melanin, which is not good.  The combination of the melanin and the specific kind of cells she was seeing can equal melanoma.  She wanted to send out the sample for additional testing before having the lump surgically removed.

My doggie might have cancer, even if he doesn’t he will probably still need surgery.  We won’t know for sure until the lab results come back next week so until then I’m doing my best to stay positive.  If something really is wrong with my little Gus I’m not quite sure what I’ll do. 

