And she’s about to work a whole lot harder. 

That’s right!  I was offered the job that I alluded to in my last post.  It’s probably not smart to say too much about it here, but I’d be happy to tell you about it in an e-mail.

When I told TTO about the position his response was, “So basically this is the job you’ve wanted to have for the last six years?”  And it really, truly is just that.  I still don’t feel like I’m even remotely qualified, but if they think I am I guess that’s all that matters.

As thrilled as I am about moving forward, giving my notice on Wednesday was one of the most difficult things I have ever had to do (professionally, anyway).  The people here have been so good to me and they’ve trusted me with a lot of responsibility.  Unfortunately there just isn’t anymore room to grow.  While talking it through with my current boss, he said, “Anna, I knew after six months that you were bored.  I’m so happy for you, sad for us, but definitely happy for you.”  That’s when the tears started to flow.

The next two weeks are going to be jam-packed with finishing up all the work I’ve been putting off and making sure the transition goes as smoothly as possible for current company.  (Thanks RA, for the great list-writing strategy!)  I’m also going to try my best to get my home life back in reasonable order.  The interviewing process pretty much sucked the life out of me so things at Casa de 30 have been suffering over the last few weeks.  Thank God for an understanding TTO!  (I PROMISE to do laundry and make my way to the grocery store this weekend.)

I really want to keep up the energy and get through everything so I made a list of what I’ll have to look forward to when the transition is complete.  In no particular order, a few things I am excited about besides, you know, the actual work I’ll be doing:

  • My very own cube.  I know most of you probably don’t think a cube is all that great, but for the last 2 and a half years I’ve been sitting at what amounts to a receptionist’s desk.  I’m the first person you see when you walk into the office and the dumping ground for all incoming and outgoing packages.  Having my OWN space is going to be amazing.
  • A real, live, grown-up office building.  Current job is in a strip-mall style office complex that has the worst building manager in the history of bricks and mortar.  When the light above the main stairway went out I called to let him know.  His response was “We don’t have a ladder that will reach.  Take the back stairs if you need light.”  Wow, that’s really convenient.  And not at all scary.  Thanks!  New office is on the 10th floor of a great building, in a great location and they have a fantastic view. 
  • Every day is casual day.  I’m sure the dress code changes during client meetings and while traveling for events, but regular office days mean jeans.  In fact, one of the people that interviewed me was wearing a baseball cap.  No longer do I have to straddle the fine line that is “business casual”.  Too dressy?  Not dressy enough?  It doesn’t matter!  Also?  Less ironing.
  • Feeling like I’ve finally done it.  I’ve struggled over the years since college graduation with seeing my classmates achieve everything they set out to do.  My own path has been rocky – bad choices (due mainly to my terrible impatience), horrible bosses, unfulfilled promises and embarassment at changing jobs every two years.  Knowing that I’m going to be in a place where I have always envisioned myself feels so unbelievably good.
  • Not being the “baby”.  In every single job I’ve had I have been the youngest team member.  In some cases by as much as 10 years.  It’s going to be very refreshing to be around people my own age and younger.  I can’t wait to whip those recent college grads into shape!
  • Office dogs.  The company owners have two dogs that make regular appearances in the office.  Maybe this means Gus can join me every once in a while?

There is so much more, but I really need to get cracking on those to do lists.  Thank you to everyone for your amazing support!

