The very first blog I ever read was Amalah.  I loved Amy’s witty writing, her fun sense of humor and her HATE of Ikea furniture.  While reading her archives I felt so much compassion for her struggle to have a baby, followed by elation at the arrival of her son Noah.  Amy also writes an Advice Smackdown for Alpha Mom. The Smackdown covers everything from shampoo to skin care to fashion to infertility.  She is a font of good information with a side of good-natured sarcasm.  Last week, during a moment of self doubt I decided to send Amy an e-mail.  I was completely shocked a few days later when I visited the Smackdown and discovered I was reading my own words.

I asked her not to link to the blog because I wasn’t sure how personal I wanted to get here.  I wanted advice but I wasn’t sure I wanted everyone to know about it.  After thinking about it for a few days I decided that I needed to include the link.  It’s part of my story and it is related to the 30 list.  

Anyone who is not fond of a little TMI might want to skip it.   (Um, Dad?  You will probably want to pass.)

Trying to Conceive: Infertility Before Age 30

This is a brief passage from the thank you e-mail I sent to Amy, “I needed someone to tell me that it’s okay to be concerned.  That I CAN take a course of action besides waiting it out.  And you did that for me.”

Sometimes the power of the internet just amazes me.

