Part 3 of 6.  Read the rest here Part 1 and here Part 2.

“How fast did He work?”, you may be asking.

It took less than 12 hours.

The next afternoon I received a phone call that would turn out to be the very answer to my prayer.  I just didn’t know it at the time.

Ring, ring.

Me:  Hello?
Mater: Hey, wanna go to a Wolves game tomorrow night?  For my birthday?
Me: Absolutely! Who else is going?
Mater: Well, me, C and….TTO.
Me: Um, well, uh, I don’t know. That might be weird.
Mater: It’ll be fine!
Me: Does he know you’re inviting me?
Mater: Not exactly.
Me: I figured as much.
Mater: Just come. It will be fun. You can avoid each other if it’s too weird.
Me: Alright, but if it gets ugly I’m placing all the blame on you.

I spent the entire next day primping (my best friend and roommate at the time told me that she KNEW something was going to happen just because of the effort I was putting into getting ready) and going back and forth about whether to go or not.  I picked up the phone and half-dialed Mater about a dozen times but I couldn’t come up with a good enough excuse for backing out.

Then I paced and paced and tried to watch TV and paced until finally the doorbell buzzed.  I steeled myself before opening the door trying to be prepared for whatever might be on the other side.  He looked good.  Almost too good.  I’d like to say I felt butterflies but really I felt more like I was going to throw up.  I was just too nervous and worked up. 

It turned out that TTO was driving, with Mater as navigator.  Thing were rolling along smoothly until Mater got us horribly lost on the complete wrong side of the city.  I knew where we were and what we needed to do to get to the game, but speaking up would mean having to talk.to.TTO.  Finally Mater’s horrible decision making got the better of me.  As he was directing TTO to take a left I yelled NOOOOOO! from the backseat.  “Um, I mean, um, you really just want to keep going straight.”  TTO took my directions the rest of the way and we made it just in time for the tip off.

Inexplicably we ended up sitting next to each other at the game.  Exactly what I had been hoping to avoid.  We started making small talk, which was pretty uncomfortable at first, but we eased into it and ended up making it through the next few hours unscathed.  At the bar afterwards we gave each other plenty of space but after a few drinks I found myself wanting to move closer and closer to him. 

The next thing I knew we were all back at my apartment.  TTO was sitting in a chair and there were no other open spots so I sat on his lap – a pretty bold move for me.  We started talking and really didn’t stop until 6 the next morning.  A night I had been dreading turned into one of the best I’d ever had.  Not quite the case for Mater.  He was really upset that TTO and I were hitting it off.  Apparently he was hoping that I would reconnect with him.

A week later I went to another basketball game with Mater and two of my girlfriends.  The girls ditched me right after and I was left alone with Mater at my apartment.  I discovered that he was definitely after more than just friendship.  We kissed.  Then I told him it was a really bad idea because I still wasn’t sure where things stood with J.  I also mentioned what a great time I’d had with TTO.

This allowed Mater to play his trump card, “TTO has a girlfriend.”

