I was tagged by the lovely Suzanne for the following meme. 

7 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Anna:

1.  I carry a small kernel of dried corn in my purse.  I found it in one of TTO’s pockets after he’d been working down on the farm.  I like having a tangible reminder of him with me all the time. 

2.  I have never been dumped.  That is not to say I’ve never had my heart broken or felt rejection.  It’s just that in every relationship I’ve been in, I’ve been the one to officially end things.  I think it’s just as hard to be the dumper as it is to be the dumpee.

3.  I have extremely sensitive feet.  I inherited this from my dad.  I used to have to wear socks (even with sandals!) all the time because my feet hurt if they were in direct contact with shoes, the floor and especially grass or sand.  I was finally able to start wearing flip flops a few years ago and I can be barefoot outside now.  However, pedicures are still extremely difficult for me.  I get them because I like how my toes look afterwards but the process is not fun or relaxing.

4.  When I was in the second grade my CCD (like Catholic Sunday School) teacher told us that there was no Santa Claus.  I think a few of the kids already knew, but I still believed.  My parents were PISSED.  My sister was only a baby at the time and my mom gave me an extremely stern warning that I better not ruin it for her.  I didn’t.  In fact, part of me still believes.  Maybe not in a fat guy in a red suit, but definitely that there is a special magic that surrounds Christmas.

5. I have freakishly strong thumbs.  Just ask TTO.  When we were first dating we had a lot of thumb wars (innocent excuse to hold hands maybe?).  I won a lot of the time even though his hands are much bigger than mine.  I also have very long, thin fingers.  My grandpa once told me that I had stenographer’s hands.  I had to ask my mom what that meant (I was fairly young), but it’s still one of my most cherished compliments.  He was a man of few words so the fact that he noticed and said something to me really meant a lot.

6.  You know how people say “I’ve never won anything!” when they win radio station prizes?  I can’t say that.  I entered a drawing at our town fair when I was a kid and won a stuffed pig and an autographed picture of someone I didn’t know.  I also won free textbooks for a semester when I was in college.  That was awesome.

7.  I don’t play favorites.  I hate when people ask me to tell them my favorite movie, song, color, food, Backstreet Boy, etc.  I am extremely non-committal.  Today my favorite color is blue, but tomorrow it could very well be yellow.  There are just too many options.  I don’t want to limit myself by saying this or that is the best of all. You might call this indecisive. I say it’s open-minded.   

I know I’m supposed to tag another 7 people, but I’ve decided not to do that. I like being tagged, but I know that not everyone does so I’ll leave it open ended. If you decide to do it, let me know!

