I was completely unprepared to go back to work this morning.  No matter why you take a day off, getting back into the swing of things is difficult.  Lately I’ve been trying to make a more conscious effort to not complain about my job or my co-workers.  It doesn’t solve any problems and no matter how bad I think I have it there is always someone out there in a worse situation than mine.  Almost everyone has to work and I don’t think everyone loves their job all the time. 

For the most part I do appreciate the job I have, the work I do and the people I interact with, but on days like today I consider packing up all of my personal belongings and never looking back.  I’m constantly thinking about changing my work life completely.  I would love to try a position that is radically different from what I do now (and what I’ve been doing for the last five years).  The problem is I’m not sure what direction to take. 

I’d prefer not to do a lot of additional schooling (um, my student loans are bad enough, thank you) , but a class here or there would be doable.  I’d really like to engage the creative side of my brain.  The idea of being a pastry chef or interior designer really appeals to me.  I think I’d be a good counselor or librarian.  Just when I think I’ve nailed down what I want to be when I grow up I change my mind.

So tell me, what do you do to pay the bills?  Do you enjoy it?  If it’s not your dream job, what is? 

I need some inspiration people.

