That is my official time from the 5k on Saturday.  I really wanted to finish in less than 40 minutes so I was very happy with this result.  I only walked about 1/4 of a mile.  This surprised me greatly as I only went for one run the entire month of September.  Normally when I run I get nasty pains in my side, but on Saturday I had issues with my ankles instead.  I’m still a bit achy today but the high of finishing and meeting that 40 minute goal make it easier to manage. 

Since I’d never done anything like this I had no idea what to expect.   I was really impressed with the wide variety of people participating.  Everyone was really supportive.  Near the finish line there were a bunch of people cheering everyone on.  It really helped with that last push.  If only they could come to my house and do that while I’m slogging it out on the elliptical. 

On our drive to the race site we saw a double rainbow. I was pretty nervous about this whole endeavor, but seeing that gave me a much more positive outlook. There was no possible way I would be first – the winner finished in just over 16 minutes, but I probably wouldn’t be last either. I just needed to do the best I possibly could and surprisingly enough I did!

I normally sell myself pretty short and make a lot of excuses for why I do or don’t do things. While I’m proud of my time, I’m even more proud of the fact that I didn’t try to weasel my way out of doing it at the last minute. I feel like I got everything I possibly could have out of this experience so I’ve decided that I can cross it off of The List even though I didn’t officially run the entire thing.

TTO was an amazing cheerleader.  I saw him twice along the route taking photos and he kept telling me how proud he was.  He puts up with a lot from me but he never wavers in his support of me and my crazy ideas.  He kept reminding me that I’d basically gotten off the couch and run almost the whole thing. There were also several veiled references to my stubborness. It was just disguised as “when you put your mind to something you really don’t let anything stop you – you need to remember that”. We’ve decided that next year we’re going to do the race together. But we’ll actually train.

We had Culver’s for lunch to celebrate – probably not the best post-race food, but when I started training back in July I’d said it was what I wanted as a reward for finishing. The rest of Saturday included a nice long nap, reading an entire book and putting a puzzle together while watching the Rockies win (if it can’t be the Twins, I’ll root for Colorado). It was one of the best days I’ve had in a long time.

