Last night TTO and I headed down to hometown to have dinner with my parents and Alice.  Dinner was nice, as was getting to spend a little time with my family.  What made the night though was the after dinner exchange between Big Daddy and Mamacita.   

Before I relay that conversation I need to give a little background.  For years Big Daddy referred to Mamacita by her mom’s name, just to drive her crazy.  However, in recent years he’s taken to calling her Yoonsie (short for “Grandma’s Name” Junior) or simply Yoons.  He has quite the knack for oddball nicknames.  For some reason they are always fitting.  Anyway, last night:

*Disclaimer – After reading this I discovered it was much funnier in person.  I promise. 

Mamacita’s Phone Rings (she has a very demanding job and she gets calls all the time).  She lets it go to voicemail.  Her voicemail sounder is a new “super hero” swoosh. 

Big Daddy – Does that mean it’s time for you to put on your Super Yoons suit?

The rest of us – A few giggles, Mamacita gives the death stare.

Big Daddy – What?  I meant that in a nice way.  Seriously.  She gets a call and then she has to go to the rescue.  Super Yoons!

Seriously – picture your own mom in a SuperWoman-style cape and tights.  Hands on hips, face to the sky.  It will make you laugh. 

Also funny yesterday?  I was at the grocery store picking up a few things to bring down for dinner.  In the next lane there was a mom with three boys, all fairly young – I’d estimate 5, 3 and not quite a year.  She was wearing a t-shirt that said, “It seemed like a good idea at the time.”  I love when people are able to make fun of themselves.  Especially in public.

