You can probably guess what I did this weekend by reading the post below.  One of my best friends, C, is getting married this coming Saturday and I went to her bachelorette party.

Everyone had a great time.  We were shushed at one bar and harassed by a dancing drunk man at another.  Unfortunately our other two close friends had other parties to attend that night and could only stay for a little while.   Since I missed getting one from her shower a few weeks ago, I made sure that the four of us got at least one picture together before we went our separate ways. 

It amazed me that even though time has passed, this picture was so similar to the others we’ve taken over the years.  One serious shot, one goofy.  M and I on the ends as the “short ones”.  I have been friends with these girls longer than I can remember.  I was friends with D as a Daisy Girl Scout.  C and I became friends in third grade when I told her she could come to my birthday party if she let me cut in front of her in line.  I met M on my first day of 7th grade and we were practically inseparable from that point on.

Not everyone is lucky enough to maintain such long term friendships.  Sure, we don’t get to spend nearly as much time together as we’d like and we’ve made other friends, but these girls and the stories that we share are such a part of who I am that no matter where they might be or how long we go without seeing each other they will always be close to me. 

D – I will never forget the night you spent at my house and had a nightmare.  You made me wake my mom up at 3 am to ask to take you home.  She said no.  I’ve never met anyone that is as intimidated by bugs as you are, yet be so strong about everything else.  I admired your guts when you asked EP to prom so many years ago.  I never could have done that.  Thank you for teaching me to not be afraid. If E doesn’t realize how lucky he is to have you and buy you a ring already he’s a fool.  

C – I appreciate you reminding me not to take myself so seriously.  While I told you each and every time I started dating someone new that I had never felt that way about anyone, you were kind enough to play along and not make fun of me (until now).  You taught me that it’s okay to look someone in the eye when I’m angry with them instead of staring above their head.  I sincerely regret the few years that we didn’t talk.  It warms my heart to see you so happy after all of the garbage those dumb boys put you through. 

M – I don’t know if I’ve told you this before, but you saved my life when you agreed to live with me for that year.  I was in such a dark place when we leased the apartment and by the time we moved out I was healed thanks to you.  The way you handle your kids with such grace and patience has inspired me to want to be a mom.  As with Anne and Diana, you are most certainly my “bosom friend”.   

We’ll have a chance to be together again on Saturday as C becomes Mrs. V.  It’s one more memory that I look forward to making with these girls.

