As you could probably tell, last week was not the best. I know better than to talk about work on here, so I won’t. I’m feeling a lot more optimistic about things today mostly because my weekend turned out to be pretty great.

TTO and I went to my company’s annual dinner on Friday and it was really enjoyable.  An unexpected bonus sure didn’t hurt.  Afterwards we met up with some friends at the beer tent of a local fair.  It was fun and relaxing and exactly what we both needed after a really stressful week.  The people watching at things like that are completely priceless.

On Saturday I volunteered at a fundraiser for Make-A-Wish.  It was a neat event – a wiffleball tournament!  The organizer was super cool and he even made the nightly news.  I had to DVR it for posterity. 

When TTO got home from work we braved a thunderstorm and went out to grab a quick dinner.  We watched the rest of The Departed.  I was surprised at how good it really was.  Also, when did Matt Damon get hot again?  Seriously.  I don’t think I’ll be complaining much when we go to see the Bourne movie later this week.

Sunday I went to the Mall of America, yes, I live about 20 minutes from there.  I normally avoid it like the plague, but I really wanted to go to Sephora.  It’s been nearly six months since I’ve been in a mall.  I was extremely overwhelmed.  I bought some new makeup which I’ll try to review after I’ve had a chance to wear it for a few days.  I also stopped at Ikea for new kitchen rugs.

I was able to check a bunch of things off of my to do list last night.  It wasn’t the most exciting weekend, but it was so restful.  When I went to bed last night I felt a renewed sense of myself and was actually looking forward to the week ahead. 

I’ve started making a list of things I think would be fun to write about.  I don’t want to keep doing recaps of my days/weekends.  If anyone is out there, do you have any requests?  I could tell you the story of Gus’ introduction to my life, or maybe how not to go to Mexico in August for your honeymoon or possibly about how I convinced my sister she was an alien and my mom went along with it.

