I was hoping that this weekend would be an opportunity to relax, recharge and some what come to terms with what happened last week, but unfortunately that just wasn’t the case.  Instead I felt like I was walking in quicksand the entire time.  Everything I set out to do took three times as long as it should have.  Needless to say, I didn’t get much checked off of my to do list.

I gave blood for the first time on Friday after work.  I was the very last person in line and definitely the youngest.  All in all it was a good experience (as good as an experience involving needles can be I guess).  While I was eating my snack afterwards (a delicious root beer float!) one of the coordinators told me that they were hoping for 50 people.  It turned out that I was number 116.  It’s such a small drop in the bucket compared to what some others have done to help, but I guess you do what you can.

Saturday night TTO and I went to dinner and then watched Alton Brown’s Feasting on Asphalt 2 on Food Network.  I love that man and that show.  He takes my love of things off the beaten path and adds food. It doesn’t get much better than that.  They are traveling the length of the Mississippi this time so I am really excited to see where they go in Minnesota.  I have a feeling Spam will be involved.

I haven’t been sleeping very well the last few nights.  I’ve had really intense, stressful dreams.  I’m sure this is what was causing my sluggishness all weekend and it finally caught up with me last night.  I told TTO I wanted to lay down for 10 minutes.  The next thing I knew it was two hours later.  I guess I needed the rest. 

I woke up this morning still feeling like I had weights dragging down all of my limbs. I just wanted to stay in bed. I felt guilty. I should be happy and thankful that I have the opportunity to wake up and go to work. I feel like I should have a more enlightened outlook on things now and I’m frustrated that I don’t.

I was reading the paper yesterday and there was a list of all of the deficient bridges in our area.  There are a few that are in even worse shape than 35W supposedly was.  People I love drive on those bridges every day.  I know that the list was supposed to provide information, but it just made my anxiety skyrocket.

I don’t want this to be a bridge collapse blog, it’s just what’s really on my mind right now.  While I’ll still be thinking about it, this will be the last I’ll write of it. It’s time to start moving ahead.

